Bravery Rewarded: Punjab Police Officers Honored with Gallantry Awards

by Parminder Singh Sodhi

In a display of exceptional valor, five members of the Anti-Gangster Task Force (AGTF) from the Punjab Police have been recognized for their courageous efforts in eliminating the killers of renowned singer Sidhu Moosewala. The team, led by DSP Bikramjit Singh Brar, has been selected for the prestigious Gallantry Award by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on the eve of Republic Day.

This commendable achievement places them among the 26 officials across the nation who have been chosen for the Central award by the MHA. The AGTF, under the leadership of AGTF chief-cum-ADGP Promod Ban, played a crucial role in solving the Moosewala case and initiating a relentless campaign against gangsters, resulting in the arrest of 951 individuals since April 2022.

DSP Bikramjit Singh Brar, a stalwart in the fight against organized crime, has been honored with the seventh award for exceptional service, including his fourth Gallantry Award. The Special Operations Group (SOG) has also received the Gallantry Award, led by ASI Jagjit Singh, alongside team members ASI Rahul Sharma, ASI Baljinder Singh, and HC Surinderpal Singh.

In separate operations, three other deserving recipients of the Gallantry Award include DSP Dalbir Singh, ASI Malkeet Singh, and the late senior constable Mandeep Singh, who will be honored posthumously for his sacrifice.

ADGP Promod Ban and AIG Intelligence-1 Swarandeep Singh are set to receive the President’s Medal for Distinguished Service, acknowledging their exceptional contributions to law enforcement.

Furthermore, four PPS officers, DCP Investigation Harvinder Singh Virk, Joint Director Digvijay Kapil, DSP CID Kuldeep Singh, and DSP PRTC Gurjitpal Singh, are among 16 officials chosen for the Medal for Meritorious Service.

A total of 16 more officials, including Inspector Satnam Singh, Inspector Amandeep Singh, Inspector Sucha Singh, SI Gulshan Singh, SI Raj Kumar (CP Amritsar), SI Raj Kumar (ISTC Kapurthala), SI Sanjeev Kumar, SI Ramesh Chand, ASI Gurwinder Singh, ASI Balbir Chand, ASI Deepak Kumar, and Platoon Commander Anish Kumar, will also be honored for their meritorious service.

In a separate category, three PPS officers, SSP Jalandhar Rural Mukhwinder Singh Bhullar, Commandant RTC Jalandhar Mandeep Singh, and DSP Detective SAS Nagar Gursher Singh, are among 14 officers selected for the Chief Minister’s Medal for Outstanding Devotion to Duty.

Expressing his congratulations, DGP Gaurav Yadav expressed gratitude to the Central and state government for acknowledging the services of these officers and boosting the morale of the entire police force. The awards not only recognize individual acts of bravery but also highlight the collective dedication of the Punjab Police in maintaining law and order.

Parminder Singh Sodhi

You may also like

Khalsa Vox

Khalsa Vox is a new-age online digest that brings to you the latest in Punjab politics, history, culture, heritage and more.

Latest Stories

Khalsa Vox, All Right Reserved.